David Quillen, chair, called the meeting to order at 3:01 p.m. and the November minutes were approved.

Chair's Report

- Introduced new Faculty Senate staff member Laurie Bialosky who will replace Sue Alvers. Sue retires January 31, 2018.
- Will report next month on the December 14th 15th Board of Trustees meeting.

President's Report

Kent Fuchs, President

David Quillen, Faculty Senate Chair

• Wished members a safe and happy holiday season.

Provost's Report

- Joe Glover, Provost
- To date, over 40,000 UF admissions applications have been received.
- Continuing search for new Director of Harn Museum of Art.
- Continuing search for new Dean of College of the Arts.

Action Items:

Honorary Degree Candidates

Rick Yost, Chair

Undergraduate Affairs

Graduate School

Honorary Degrees Committee

Angela Lindner, Associate Provost

Paul Duncan, Sr. Associate Dean

Recommended two candidates: Herbert Wertheim and William Foege.
 o Both candidates were approved.

Name Change

• <u>Dept of Health Outcomes and Policy</u> • This item was approved.

Graduate Council

- Change MA in DAS from 36 to 30 credits
- Terminate Master of Science in Nursing
 - o <u>Letter of Termination</u>
 - These items were approved.

Rename Honorary Degree, Distinguished Alumnus

- Awards and Memorial Committee
 This item was approved
 - This item was approved.

Resolution in opposition to legislation allowing

computer coding courses to substitute for foreign language study **David Quillen**, Chair Faculty Senate

Richard Scholtz, Chair

Constitution Committee

• This item was approved.

Approve 2018 Homecoming Date

Angela Lindner, Associate Provost Undergraduate Affairs

- Relayed request by the University Athletic Association to set November 3rd as the 2018 Homecoming date.
- The date currently slated for Homecoming is October 13th (vs. Vanderbilt) which was approved five years ago. The next closest October date is October 6th (vs. LSU) and a later November date would conflict with Veteran's Day (on 11-12) and Thanksgiving break (11-21 to 11-23).
- UF plays Missouri on 11-3-18. Selection of this date for Homecoming 2018 will help increase game day attendance.

Constitution Committee Report

Richard Scholtz, Chair

Constitution Committee

- Presented two changes to the university constitution and one change to the faculty senate bylaws including:
 - UF Constitution Article V(2)(B) Committee on Committees:
 - Change the review frequency of the committee from "on an annual basis" to "periodically."
 - Remove the provision: "The Committee shall report to the Senate at least twice a year."
 - UF Constitution Article V(4)(E) University Information Technology Committee
 - Amend the committee membership make-up, removing professional students.
 - Bylaw 20(A)(2)(b)1 Academic Assessment Committee
 - Change the committee's review and recommendation responsibilities and make wording succinct.

Open Discussion from Senate Floor - *Three minute limit per speaker.*

- 1) University of Florida Faculty Senators
- 2) University of Florida Faculty

There was no discussion from the Senate floor.

Meeting adjourned at 3:25 p.m.

Attending

Senators	Ashley Booth-Norse
Sophia Acord	Lyle Brenner
Suzan Alteri	John Bromfield
Luis Alvarez-Castro	Mary Brownell
Wayne Archer	Jason Butler
Dorina Avram	Janice Carrillo
Jim Bice	Xinguang 'Jim' Chen
Victoria Bird	Christa Cook
Vincent Bird	Tammy Davidson
Helene Blondeau	Kara Dawson
Donald Bolser	John Diaz

Keith Diem Silvio dos Santos John Erickson Hugh Fan Joshua Freeman Joseph Gagnon Jiam Ge Ashley Ghiaseddin Reetu Grewal Matthew Gurka Youssef Haddad **Ralph Hamor** Carrie Harmon Marc Heft Susan Hegeman **Phyllis Hendry** YongJae Ko Tanya Koropeckyj-Cox Dennis Kramer Mei-Fang Lan Margaret Lo Gillian Lord Ashley MacSuga-Gage Kalen Manasco Christopher Martyniuk William McGehee Jack Mecholsky Gloria Miller Julia Morrisroe Michael Mulvaney Scott Myers Irfan Nasir

Deborah Nistler Brandi Ormerod Mario Poceski **Cindy Prins** David Quillen Keith Rambo Churchill Roberts Andrew Rosalsky Leah Rsenberg Jean-Francois Roulet Susan Schaffer **Keith Schneider Richard Scholtz** James Seale Patricia Sohn Lauren Solberg Elisa Sottile Martin Sorbille Ravi Srinivasan **Ray Thomas** Scott Thompson

Patrick Troy Hans van Oostrom Wagner Vendrame Katie Vogel-Anderson Phil We4gner Nicole Whitehead

Liaisons Angela Bacsik Angela Linder Stephen Pritz Nicole Stedman

Students Mirna Amaya Punam Amratia

Guests -None-